You are here

Flood Recovery

Information on flood recovery assistance and activities at federal, state, and local agency levels is below.

UPDATE: FEMA Extends Registration Deadline to Aug. 8


One Week Left to Register for Disaster Assistance

Register here.


Deadline to Register for FEMA Assistance Has Been Extended to July 24. Don't Disqualify Yourself by Not Registering


Apply for FEMA Assistance Even if You Have Flood Insurance

But first you must register with FEMA, after which you will be assigned a nine-digit Registration Identification Number, which verifies your registration status. More here.


Flood or Wind Damage? Get Permits Before Rebuilding 

Permits assure residents and communities that all proposed work complies with current codes, standards, flood ordinances and recommended construction techniques. More here.


Homeownership is NOT a Requirement for FEMA Help. Renters with Flood Damage may be Eligible


FEMA Teams in Kane County 

FEMA Disaster Survivor Assistance Teams (DSATs) are in Kane County to provide information and give residents who were affected by the April flooding an opportunity to register for federal disaster assistance.

These teams will be visiting homes, businesses, and high traffic locations in the affected areas providing support to disaster survivors directly in the communities where they live and work.
DSAT members may offer residents the opportunity to use a tablet computer to register for assistance. Residents will not be required to share personal information unless they wish a DSAT team member to enter the data for them. Residents are reminded to ask for federal identification before providing personal information.
Don Bryant, director of the Kane County Office of Emergency Management said “The DSAT teams will give residents the opportunity to ask a FEMA representative directly about the disaster assistance process and register for the program”.
If residents prefer to use their own personal computer or telephone to register for FEMA assistance they can do so by calling 800-621-3362 (TTY 800-462-7585) or by going to

2013 Federal Disaster Aid Programs for the State of Illinois

Following is a summary of key federal disaster aid programs that can be made available as needed and warranted under President Obama's disaster declaration issued for the State of Illinois.

Assistance for Affected Individuals and Families Can Include as Required:

  • Rental payments for temporary housing for those whose homes are unlivable.  Initial assistance may be provided for up to three months for homeowners and at least one month for renters.  Assistance may be extended if requested after the initial period based on a review of individual applicant requirements. (FEMA funded and administered.)
  • Grants for home repairs and replacement of essential household items not covered by insurance to make damaged dwellings safe, sanitary and functional.  (FEMA funded and administered.)
  • Grants to replace personal property and help meet medical, dental, funeral, transportation and other serious disaster-related needs not covered by insurance or other federal, state and charitable aid programs. (FEMA funded at 75 percent of total eligible costs; 25 percent funded by the state.)
  • Low-interest loans to cover residential losses not fully compensated by insurance.  Loans available up to $200,000 for primary residence; $40,000 for personal property, including renter losses.  Loans available up to $2 million for business property losses not fully compensated by insurance.  (U.S. Small Business Administration.)
  • Loans up to $2 million for small businesses, small agricultural cooperatives and most private, non-profit organizations of all sizes that have suffered disaster-related cash flow problems and need funds for working capital to recover from the disaster's adverse economic impact. This loan in combination with a property loss loan cannot exceed a total of $2 million.  (U.S. Small Business Administration.)
  • Other relief programs: Crisis counseling for those traumatized by the disaster; income tax assistance for filing casualty losses; advisory assistance for legal, veterans benefits and social security matters.
  • Unemployment payments up to 26 weeks for workers who temporarily lost jobs because of the disaster and who do not qualify for state benefits, such as self-employed individuals.  (FEMA funded; state administered.)
  • Loans up to $500,000 for farmers, ranchers and aquaculture operators to cover production and property losses, excluding primary residence. (Farm Service Agency, U.S. Dept. of Agriculture.)

How to Apply for Assistance 

Register online at, by web enabled mobile device at or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362).

  • Disaster assistance applicants, who have a speech disability or hearing loss and use TTY, should call 1-800-462-7585 directly; for those who use 711 or Video Relay Service (VRS), call 1-800-621-3362. The toll-free telephone numbers are available from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. (local time) Monday through Sunday until further notice. 
  • Applicants registering for aid should be prepared to provide basic information about themselves (name, permanent address, phone number), insurance coverage and any other information to help substantiate losses. 

More Information

FEMA (Federal Government)

State & County Government

Kane County April 2013 Flood Disaster Assistance - Kane County Board Chairman Chris Lauzen and Illinois Governor Pat Quinn have both declared Kane County to be a major disaster area which triggers the disaster area reassessment provisions of the Illinois Property Tax Code. This includes Disaster Area Reassessment and the Natural Disaster Homestead Exemption. For more information, please visit the Kane County website -

DuPage County

Illinois Emergency Management Agency (IEMA)IEMA Flood FAQ

updated Feb 12, 2016