November’s Landmark of the Month is the Long House. Located at 502 S. 4th Ave., the Long House was constructed in 1852 in the National style. Constructed of limestone, the original structure has a simple rectangular, gable-front form. The gables are low pitched, with gable end cornice returns. The structure consists of two stories and an English basement. The south wing was added prior to 1892, and possibly as early as 1875. The wing is also constructed of limestone, with a unique decorative red brick surround, two courses wide.
Dennis Long and his wife were the first recorded purchasers of this property. Dennis was a mason who worked on the Illinois and Michigan Canal, as well as local projects like the first St. Patrick’s Church. After Dennis’ death, the house was passed to his son John, who enlisted in the Indiana Infantry during the Civil War. The home remained in the Long family until the late 1940s.
For more information about Historic Preservation, please visit https://www.stcharlesil.gov/historic-preservation
Long House- 502 S. 4th Ave.
Built ca. 1852