Meeting Minutes of the Regular Meeting City of St. Charles Board of Fire & Police Commissioners Monday, January 8, 2018 5:00 p.m.

Fire Department Training Conference Room 2nd Floor Century Station

Present: Chairman Keith Rollins, Mr. Don Haines, Ms. Dianne Kellett,

Mr. John Kennedy, Dr. Steven Baginski

Absent:

Also Present: Ms. Denice Brogan; Human Resources, Fire Chief Joe Schelstreet,

Police Chief Jim Keegan, Carole Murphy; Recording Secretary

1. Call to Order

Chairman Keith Rollins called the meeting to order at 5:03 pm.

2. Roll Call

Roll was called with five members present.

3. Public Forum

No Report

4. Approval of Minutes

a. A motion was made by Ms. Dianne Kellett and seconded by Mr. Donald Haines to accept the minutes of the December 11, 2017 regular meeting. The minutes were passed as presented by a unanimous voice vote of all members present.

5. Approval to Accept the Permanent Appointment of FF/PM Andrew Kidd

Chief Schelstreet has submitted a letter of recommendation for permanent appointment for FF/PM Andrew Kidd to Mr. Keith Rollins stating FF Kidd has successfully completed all of his probationary requirements as of January 16, 2018.

A motion was made by Mr. John Kennedy and seconded by Dr. Steve Baginski to accept the permanent appointment of FFPM Andrew Kidd as if January 16, 2018.

The motion was passed by a unanimous voice vote of all members present.

6. Approval to Accept Background for Next Applicant on Firefighter List

Chief Schelstreet asked Ms. Brogan to present the Board with the completed background for the firefighter candidate in que for the next vacancy we may have.

A motion was made by Dr. Baginski and seconded by Mr. Haines to accept the background as presented.

The motion was passed by a unanimous voice vote of all members present.

7. Approval to Accept the Permanent Appointment of 2 Police Officers

Chief Keegan made a recommendation to permanently appoint two probationary police officers. Mike Karnath from the Village of Woodstock and Matt Phillips coming from Oak Brook.

A motion was made to accept the permanent appointment of Mike Karnath by Ms. Kellett and seconded by Dr. Baginski.

The motion was passed by a unanimous voice vote of all members present.

A motion was made to accept the permanent appointment or Matt Phillips by Ms. Kellett and seconded by Dr. Baginski.

The motion was passed by a unanimous voice vote of all members present.

8. Discussion and Approval of Open Police Sergeants Positions

With the retirement of DC Dave Kintz, there are now open positions within the Police Department. Chief Keegan has asked approval of the City Administrator to fill these vacancies. Chief Keegan is informing the Board he is recommending Mike McGowan to fill the vacancy for Sergeant.

A motion was made to promote Mike McGowan for the Sergeant position upon approval of City Administration by Mr. Haines and seconded by Mr. Kennedy.

The motion was passed by a unanimous voice vote of all members present.

9. Discussion and Approval of Three Police Officer Positions

Due to the retirement of DC Kintz, the upcoming retirement of Officer Tim Beam and a probationary Officer resigning, this leaves three openings for Police Officers. Chief Keegan reiterated previous information regarding the wait lists at the training academies and the need to utilize the lateral list. Chief Keegan is asking permission to hire three people from the lateral list considering the backlog for the academies and filling the positions sooner. Chief Keegan is anticipating additional retirements as well and would fill those positions from the traditional list.

A motion was made for the approval to hire three open positions using the lateral list by Mr. Kennedy and seconded by Dr. Baginski.

The motion was passed by a unanimous voice vote of all members present.

10. Other Business

None

11. Executive Session

None

With no further business, a motion was made to adjourn the meeting by Mr. Don Haines and seconded by Ms. Dianne Kellett. The motion was passed by a unanimous voice vote of all members present.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:16 pm.

Respectfully Submitted by Carole Murphy; Recording Secretary