MINUTES

CITY OF ST CHARLES, IL

708 MENTAL HEALTH BOARD MEETING SUBCOMMITEE KANE COUNTY MENTAL HEALTH ADVISORY COMMITTEE AUGUST 23, 2017

- 1. Call to Order 5:42 by Barb Gacic
- 2. Introductions with St Charles Council Members Ron Silkaitis, Rita Payleitner, 708 Member Carolyn Waibel, Barb Gacic, Kane County Mental Health Advisory Member William Beith

3. William Beith Presentation

William Beith gave an extensive history on the background of Illinois Dept of Mental Health, Kane County Mental Health and the local 708 boards dating back to 1969. William Beith distributed a copy of Reforming Mental Health Services in Illinois by Lawerence E Lynn Jr, University of Chicago, 2010. There are a total of 16 townships in Kane county with only 10 represented currently with 708 boards either in townships or municipalities. He went on to explain the proposal by the advisory committee for a county wide 708 board, levy and details not yet worked out. Currently McHenry County and Kendall County deliver services through a county wide 708 board. No comparable data for either county was available at the time of ask. His opinion is that it would be more efficient at the county wide level to coordinate with agencies delivering services, spreading the tax over a wider base of people and ultimately lower taxes.

When asked for data to support, he did not have any at the time, but stated that McHenry and Kendall counties operate successfully.

4. Questions

Discussion ensued

- *Referendum is required to pass the new levy and it would automatically dissolve current township boards
- *Specifically St Charles as a home rule municipality would be exempt but would be liable to double taxation.
- *The original bill that established the Kane County Mental Health Advisory Committee was Senate Bill 1584 which will sunset 12/31/2018
- *The Advisory Committee is currently writing a proposal and does not yet have a timeline of the presentation date but will advise us on next steps. When asked if they have a certain % set for proposal, William Beith stated they did not at this time.
- 5. Meeting Adjourned by Carolyn Waibel 7:24 pm