You are here


Awards & Recognition

Fire Department Awarded International Accreditation

The St. Charles Fire Department has retained Accredited Agency status with the Commission on Fire Accreditation International (CFAI) for once again meeting the criteria established through the CFAI’s voluntary self-assessment and accreditation program. The St. Charles Fire Department is one of only 250 agencies to achieve Internationally Accredited Agency status with the CFAI and the Center for Public Safety Excellence, Inc. The Department was first accredited in 2013.

City Awarded for Stormwater Management

The City of St. Charles has been awarded the 2018 Stormwater Management Award from the Illinois Association for Floodplain and Stormwater Management (IAFSM). The City was selected based on the efforts to advance the Community Rating System, floodplain mapping and mitigation, watershed planning and stormwater master plans. 

This is an honor for the City to be selected for this award and be viewed as a community that is doing the right things for effective stormwater and floodplain management, and flood risk mitigation. 

St. Charles Awarded for Excellence in Financial Reporting for 32nd Consecutive Year

For the 32nd year in a row, the City of St. Charles’ Comprehensive Annual Financial Report was awarded the prestigious Certificate of Achievement for Excellence in Financial Reporting from the Government Finance Officers Association (GFOA). The award is the highest form of recognition in government accounting and finance. It recognizes the City of St. Charles for showing a spirit of full disclosure in clearly communicating the City’s finances.

St. Charles Selected as Finalist for the National ‘Voice of the People’ Award

City Ranked Among the Highest in Resident Satisfaction for Recreation and Wellness

St. Charles was named a Finalist for the Voice of the People Award for Excellence in Recreation and Wellness from the National Research Center, Inc. (NRC). St. Charles received the award after garnering high marks in Recreation and Wellness category of the City of St. Charles’s 2016 Resident Survey.

Finance Director Christopher Minick Appointed President of State Finance Association

Appointment Announced at IGFOA Annual Conference

City of St. Charles Director of Finance Christopher Minick has been elected  President of the Executive Board of the Illinois Finance Officers Association, a statewide association of government finance professionals. He was instated at the IGFOA Annual Conference in September. IGFOA provides leadership, education, professional development and support to government finance officers in Illinois.

Fire Chief Joe Schelstreet Again Earns International Accreditation

Fire Chief Joe Schelstreet again has earned designation as a Chief Fire Officer (CFO) by the Commission on Professional Credentialing. The designation is awarded for meeting professional, educational, technical, and community service achievements and fulfilling prescribed standards of performance, ethics, and conduct. Schelstreet was originally designated as a CFO in 2015. Each designation is valid for three years.

City of St. Charles Named 'Breastfeeding-Friendly' Employer

Silver-Level Recognition Granted by Kane County Breastfeeding Association

The City of St. Charles was recently named a Breastfeeding-Friendly Employer by the Kane County Breastfeeding Association. The City was granted silver-level recognition by the Association for their support of breastfeeding mothers in the workplace.

The City was recognized for its revamped Wellness Room, a quiet and private space in the Municipal Building for employees to take a break and de-stress, make a private phone call or pump breast milk.